Review of THE GATEKEEPERS

gatekeepers

This Documentary was nominated for an Oscar last weekend, and it’s slowly getting released around the country this year.

Now, I need to say something before I go into what I thought about the movie.  I am incredibly naive and ignorant when it comes to current events and politics.  Meaning…. I have no fucking clue what is going on in the world!  Not to fall back on a crutch, but I have Asperger’s Syndrome, which means I kind of live in my own little world.   And that world is a sort of “movieland”.  I eat, sleep and breathe movies.  I also watch cartoons as opposed to the news.  Who wants to watch news?  That’s for old people!  I’d rather watch Popeye.  So…. just so you have that in your head, this movie was not targeted towards me, and my review will reflect that.  You can call me uneducated, uncultured, and not too bright…. but not before I call MYSELF out.  I know I’m these things, so maybe it’s not fair for me to review THE GATEKEEPERS, but I DID see it, so I might as well tell you my experience viewing the film.

Just to make it interesting, I’m not going to look up any synopsis’ or story summaries to help me describe the movie.  No, I’m going to show you how I “saw” the movie.  Essentially, this is a movie about the secret service in the Middle East.  I believe this is the first time any of these people have been revealed to the public, and they share their stories from the past 40 years or so.  Most of the film is just a bunch of old guys sitting in an atmospherically lit room as they talk about political things, conspiracies and torturing people.  And that’s about it.

Whether you like this movie or not will determine on just how much these subjects and topics interest you.  If you’re a political junkie or conspiracy theorist, I can imagine you will find much to engage you.  But quite frankly, I had no clue what any of these folks were talking about.  As soon as someone starting talking about technical, political things, all I could hear was “BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH!”.  In fact, I really hated watching this movie, because I felt like a fucking idiot for NOT understanding it.  I wish I cared about the inner workings of a secret agency, but I just don’t.  I was completely bored out of my mind during the movie, and kept waiting for the projectionist to run a vintage Donald Duck cartoon.

There was one thing that interested me, and that was when they focused on one of the former bosses from the agency.  He seemed like a harmless little man, but when other people spoke about him, they made him out to be a monster.  But apart from that, I kept waiting for this slog of a Documentary to be over.  Sure, it’s a slickly made movie, and it seems to be well researched, but this one just wasn’t made for me.  I’m not going to tell you NOT to see this movie, cause I feel like a lot of viewers will benefit and appreciate it, but I won’t apologize for how I reacted to it.  I really, really try to be open-minded about every film I sit down to watch, but it’s hard to like a movie when you have no idea what anyone is talking about during its entire running time. I got as much enjoyment out of this film about as much as a 6 year-old would.   ★½ (out of ★★★★)

– Rated PG-13 for violent content including disturbing images.

– Running time: 1hr 40min.



Categories: Austin Kennedy, Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Maybe your IQ and a 6 years olds are about the same?

  2. Then why are you a “film critic” then? No offense. But seriously. How do you have a job as a film critic if you have no attention span. Know nothing about the world. And so on and so on……

    • I have a huge passion for films and I love to share it with the world. But I’m a little out of touch with reality. What you get from me is very honest. I have a large attention span, but I don’t pay attention to current events, cause I would probably end up slitting my wrists. It’s not easy to admit that you’re an idiot, but hey, at least I said it. But seriously, the reason I’m a film critic is that I love movies. Don’t pretend to be an expert, but what you will get from me is pure passion and honesty. What else can I do? Thanks for reading. 🙂

  3. Your honesty about your limitations as a critic help put your review in perspective and are appreciated. But in the future, you may consider your audience before doing reviews. Think about your unique perspective and focus on films where it might be appreciated. To be honest, reading a review about a very real situation from a person who spends his time in alter-reality did absolutely nothing for me except leave me wondering why the author ever left his cartoons in the first place?

  4. Dont listen to the haters on here. I, for one thought it was a great movie, but that was simply my opinion. keep doing what you love, man!

  5. Sorry Austin, but I’m with Sue. I understand your reasoning, but it appears that a film critic would need some nuanced understanding of “the world” in order to provide any valuable perspective about said art form. I mean, that IS the purpose of turning to film critics, right? I’d say being culturally & politically literate, which includes being up on current events, is pretty helpful to evaluate an art form that is bathed in “the real world”. The art isn’t created in a vacuum by the artists, so not sure why we’d want the limited perspective of a critic who seems to just have a passion for film…but in a vacuum.

Leave a Reply

