Ant-Man Lives! Agent Coulson Returns! Red Skull Doesn’t!

Lots of news regarding Marvel movies today.

The first and probably biggest news is that ANT-MAN is a go and has staked out a November 6, 2015 release date. If that seems like a long ways off, keep in mind that the ANT-MAN movie has been in development for about as long as the original IRON MAN. Edgar Wright (SHAUN OF THE DEAD, HOT FUZZ) has been wanting to bring the story of Henry Pym to the big screen for a while, but it always seems like something has gotten in the way. In the comics, Pym was actually one of the founding members of the Avengers. A brilliant scientist, he invented a device that allowed him to shrink to a nearly microscopic size. He also wore a helmet that allowed him to communicate with ants, hence the name.

The main question that will need to be answered is how receptive audiences will be to Ant-Man. The heroes that have been given the big screen treatment have not always been the most widely known, but they have been audience pleasing staples. With Wright’s ANT-MAN and James Gunn’s GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY, Marvel is now trying to give equal time to some of their more esoteric properties. Should be interesting.

Before those movies however, we’re going to have the newest installments in the IRON MAN, THOR and CAPTAIN AMERICA franchises.

Hugo Weaving, who played the Red Skull in CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER, doesn’t intend to be back for CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER.

“I don’t think Red Skull will be there and it’s not something I would want to do again,” Weaving told Collider. “I’m glad I did it.  I did sign up for a number of pictures and I suppose, contractually, I would be obliged to, if they forced me to, but they wouldn’t want to force someone to do it, if they didn’t want to.  I think I’ve done my dash with that sort of film.  It was good to do it and try it out, but to be honest, it’s not the sort of film I seek out and really am excited by.  As an actor, to do all sorts of different films is great.  It stretches you in different ways.  But, I increasingly like to go back to what I used to always do, which is to get involved with projects that I really have a personal affiliation with.”

Surprising talk coming from the man who is not only in CAPTAIN AMERICA, but also popular sci-fi/fantasy franchises like THE MATRIX, LORD OF THE RINGS and TRANSFORMERS. Maybe not as surprising as finding out that despite voicing the villain in all three TRANSFORMERS movies, Weaving has never even met director Michael Bay. “That’s a weird job for me because it honestly was a two-hour voice job, initially,” Weaving said. “I was doing a play and I actually didn’t have time, anyway.  It was one of the only things I’ve ever done where I had no knowledge of it, I didn’t care about it, I didn’t think about it.  They wanted me to do it.  In one way, I regret that bit.  I don’t regret doing it, but I very rarely do something if it’s meaningless.  It was meaningless to me, honestly.  I don’t mean that in any nasty way.  I did it.  It was a two-hour voice job, while I was doing other things.  Of course, it’s a massive film that’s made masses of money.  I just happened to be the voice of one of the iconic villainous characters.  But, my link to that and to Michael Bay is so minimal.  I have never met him.  I was never on set.  I’ve seen his face on Skype.  I know nothing about him, really.  I just went in and did it.  I never read the script.  I just have my lines, and I don’t know what they mean.  That sounds absolutely pathetic!  I’ve never done anything like that, in my life.  It’s hard to say any more about it than that, really.”

Wow. Okay, back to the Marvel news. Many have loved the character of Agent Coulson, immortalized by actor Clark Gregg in IRON MAN, THOR and THE AVENGERS. Now comes news that despite the events depicted in those films, Gregg will be back as Agent Coulson, leading the cast in Joss Whedon’s new S.H.I.E.L.D. television series, which is based on the Marvel Phase One films. No one knows how this will happen, but I guess we’ll find out soon enough. Not exactly film related per se, but pretty cool nonetheless.

Oh yeah, and IRON MAN 3 and THOR: THE DARK WORLD will both be released in 3-D, as if we had any doubt.

This makes the whole breakdown as follows: IRON MAN 3 on May 3, 2013, then THOR: THE DARK WORLD on November 8, 2013. In 2014, we have CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER on April 4, and GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY on August 1. 2015 brings THE AVENGERS sequel in May and the previously mentioned ANT-MAN on November 6. Adjust your plans accordingly.



Categories: Movie News, Scott W. Davis

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

